Courtyard and Chapel
The private chapel and adjoining courtyard buildings at Eaton Hall were designed by Alfred Waterhouse.
The courtyard complex was part of the grand rebuilding scheme which began in 1870, commissioned by Hugh Lupus Grosvenor, then third Marquess of Westminster, who became the First Duke of Westminster in 1874.
The courtyard buildings provided stabling for horses and accommodation for staff involved in their care. The Hall was demolished in the early 1960s, but the architectural gem that is Eaton Chapel remains today, together with the courtyard buildings. The chapel is still used for services, though less regularly than it was in Hugh’s time. The courtyard buildings no longer serve their original purpose but the buildings have been adapted to meet modern needs are used frequently for staff and charitable events.